KATSUDON

Every after school, my younger brother always runs into the kitchen and asks me what I cook him for lunch. Sometimes I cook afterwards based on his requests, sometimes I don’t if I have something else to do.

Earlier today, I decided to cook Katsudon for my brother. I thought he would love this dish since he likes meaty dish and Japanese food in general.

I did some research and combined several different Katsudon recipes and I came out with this recipe. Enjoy!

Katsudon
Serves: 2

Katsu fillets:

  • 350gr pork sirloin
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 beaten egg
  • all purpose flour
  • panko (Japanese bread crumbs)
  • oil
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 spring onion, chopped

How to:

  1. Flatten the cutlets until they’re about 1 cm thick.
  2. Season both sides with salt and pepper evenly.
  3. Coat both sides with all purpose flour.
  4. Dip the floured cutlets into the egg.
  5. Coat with panko evenly.

Seasoning stock

  • approx. 1.5 cups of chicken stocks ( I didn’t have dashi stocks at hands; I used chicken stocks instead and it turned out great. You could substitute with fish stock too.)
  • approx. 2 tbsp of Kikkoman soy sauce
  • approx. 1 tbsp of sugar

Actually, you can just deep-fry the fillet then skip to step 4. I purposely use another method below to serve my brother the healthier style which doesn’t require too much oil but still tastes good. ( :

How to:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350˚ F (150˚ C).
  2. Pour about 1 tbsp of olive oil on the skillet. Fry the fillet just until the surface turns into brown.
  3. Put the fillets in the oven and cook about 8 minutes for each side.
  4. Place the seasoning stock and the sliced onions into a pan on high heat until it simmers.
  5. Pour the beaten egg over the pan, place the sliced katsu fillets in the middle.

Cover for a while until the egg cooks.
Garnished with chopped spring onions and serve.

Enjoy!
Felicia Susetyo (;

One comment

  1. Pingback: Pork cutlet an a tower of vegetables | Yummy Lummy

Leave a Reply

